Skip to content

Former Representative Kathy Swan Named to Food Bank Board of Directors

Kathy Swan

Kathy Swan, former state representative and president of JCS Wireless, has been named to the board of directors of Southeast Missouri Food Bank.

“We are honored to welcome Kathy to the board,” said Joey Keys, chief executive officer of Southeast Missouri Food Bank. “Her history of service to the people of southeast Missouri and her legislative experience make her an incredible asset to our organization. We’re looking forward to her help in the fight against hunger.”

Swan served four terms in the Missouri House of Representatives, earning a reputation as an advocate for healthcare and education. She is eager to bring her experience to the food bank’s effort to end hunger and build healthy communities in southeast Missouri.

“I believe in the food bank’s mission, and I think sometimes we lose sight that some areas of southeast Missouri have high rates of poverty and food insecurity,” Swan said. “I look forward to the opportunity to use prior legislative and healthcare experience to benefit our area of the state.”

One in six families and one in five children in southeast Missouri live in homes where they do not have the resources to acquire enough food.

Other members of the food bank board are chairman Marty Platz, vice chairman Roger Guilliams, secretary/treasurer Danielle Poyner, Mark Avery, Chris Conroy, Julianna Montgomery Ford, Dr. Tony Robinson, Chris White, Keys and Frank Jones, member emeritus.